Brown Parent Quirks: Overfeeding kids

During Dinner

Mom: You are only eating this much?

Me: I am not that hungry.

Mom(putting more food on my plate): You are too skinny. Look at your bony wrist. Eat more.

15 minutes later

Me: I cannot finish this. Ah, my stomach hurts.

Mom: See, I told you don’t eat much. How can your stomach hurt by only eating this little?

Dad: Finish your dinner. Don’t waste it.

Me: Putting my leftovers in the fridge. I”l eat it later.

 

Next Day…

Me: Mom, where are my leftovers?

Mom: Your Dad ate it.

Dad: You didn’t want it in first place.

Sorry kiddo

I think most South Asian parents overstuff their kids because they did not have enough food  as children. Moreover with so much poverty and malnutrition in South Asia, being well-fed is a sign of prosperity.

 

3 thoughts on “Brown Parent Quirks: Overfeeding kids

  1. My host mom’s biggest fear was that I would return from India without having gained weight and my parents would hate her for not taking good care of me. As if my parents want me fatter! Mine would rather I lost weight!

    • LOL! Your story reminds me of what happened when my cousins visited us from Germany. My aunt was trying to get them to lose weight but my mum kept feeding them snacks. I think they gained more weight while living with us.

Leave a Reply

