Brown Parent Quirks: Ethnocentrism

Brown parents can be very ethnocentric. My parents are from India and according to them, everything of value came out of India.

I am watching TV. Suddenly, they are talking about yoga.

Dad: Our ancestors created yoga. We also created the number zero. Our shastras (vedic textbooks) talked about earth being round and revolving around the sun. We were far ahead of Medieval Europe.

Me: Yes, I know that

Dad: Look, the whole world does yoga and meditation but we Hindus created it. We also have the best food, clothing. The way we celebrate our festivals, our culture is amazing.

Me: Yes?????(Not seeing his point)

Dad: India is not all just negative. There is good stuff too.  We actually have family values.

Me: Okay.

Dad: You should talk about good things from India in front of others.

I don’t get the let’s praise India in front of others mentality. I like to talk about the negative aspects of society because I want to bring attention to them. India is very dear to me. I was born there and most of my family still lives there. I want India to be a better place for them. I love Canada as well which is why I blogged about Rahtaeh Parsons case. Both countries have many good things that are admirable but they can both improve in other aspects. India just has more harrowing challenges then Canada. Anyway, all cultures have given us something beautiful and I get to enjoy that. YAY for Toronto being a diverse city.

7 thoughts on “Brown Parent Quirks: Ethnocentrism

  1. I got the same thing from my parents in the American South. “The south will rise again” and so on. I agree with you that we need to talk about both the bad and the good of where we are from and where we are going. Now I live near Canada, fifteen or twenty miles, and I love northern NY, but it has its problems as well. Having a foot in the world of two different cultures is a good thing I think.

  2. At least for me….sometimes its thinking about the aspects of culture that i don’t like which helps me to better appreciate the things I do like 🙂 …so …i totally agree with where your going with the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

